We bought the old farmhouse, Strandgård, near Kaløvig in 2002. It is situated ca. 20 min. drive time from Århus. Our family is made up of Mogens and Inge – a construction engineer and an occupational therapist, together with our children Mathias and Mads.
We fell in love with the fascinating 200+ year history of the farmmhouse. So much in fact, that we resigned from our jobs and moved from Vejen, to start a new and very different life as campsite owners.
Kaløvig strandgård served as an estate farm for Rosenholm Castle, and in 1900 served as host to nobility, who arrived via horse drawn carriage to take advantage of the farms bathhouse on the beach.
In the 1960’s the farmhouse was sold to photographer, Mogens Amsnæs and his wife. They converted Strandgården to, a ‘modern’ campsite with toilets, showers and a site shop.
The opening of the campsite in 1962 was attended by Dirck Passer and Lily Broberg.
In the late 1970’s Aarhus businessmen bought the farm, and with the help of the architect school, they transformed the farm into an exclusive restaurant and gallery.
In the middle of the 1980’s they sold strandgården, but agreed to a limited partnership, with the lease of the restaurant, as it had become very well known.
This year we introduce a lovely hot sauna, and we put even more warmth on the pool.
Follow us on Facebook – which we keep you posted.