We bought the old farmhouse, Strandgården, near Kaløvig in 2002. It is situated ca. 20 min. drive time from Århus. Our family is made up of Mogens and Inge – a construction engineer and an occupational therapist, together with our children Mathias and Mads.
We fell in love with the fascinating 200+ year history of the farmmhouse. So much in fact, that we resigned from our jobs and moved from Vejen, to start a new and very different life as campsite owners.
Kaløvig strandgård served as an estate farm for Rosenholm Castle, and in 1900 served as host to nobility, who arrived via horse drawn carriage to take advantage of the farms bathhouse on the beach.
In the 1960’s the farmhouse was sold to photographer, Mogens Amsnæs and his wife. They converted Strandgården to, a ‘modern’ campsite with toilets, showers and a site shop.
The opening of the campsite in 1962 was attended by Dirck Passer and Lily Broberg.
In the late 1970’s Aarhus businessmen bought the farm, and with the help of the architect school, they transformed the farm into an exclusive restaurant and gallery.
In the middle of the 1980’s they sold strandgården, but agreed to a limited partnership, with the lease of the restaurant, as it had become very well known.
As something new this year, this spring we are inagurating the long awating hot sauna.
Inside the pool area, build in a beautiful timber frame with a straw roof, stands the neat little building, awaiting the guests arrival.
We are putting even more heating on the pool. Both more sun heating, and in addition to that, an air to water heatpump, to always garuantee a heated pool for our guests.
Follow us on Facebook – where we will keep you updated.